Black Butler: Book of Circus

Black Butler: Book of Circus aired 10 episodes during the summer season of 2014.  Black Butler is well-known in the world of anime and this sequel to the second season is rather pleasing to watch.  Black Butler: Book of Circus is a must watch for those who have seen the first two seasons of Black Butler.  If you enjoyed the second season, you might as well travel even deeper into the lives of the Phantomhives.  The anime is considered to be apart of the Comedy, Shounen, Demon, and Supernatural genres.  Black Butler: Book of Circus earned an average score of 8.38, according to MAL users.

Plot Summary

Full of wonder and excitement, the Noah’s Arc Circus troupe has captured audiences with their dazzling performances. Yet these fantastic acts don’t come without a price. Children have mysteriously gone missing around London, correlating to that of the groups’ movements. Unsettled by these kidnappings, Queen Victoria sends in her notorious guard dog, Ciel Phantomhive, and his ever-faithful demon butler, Sebastian Michaelis, on an undercover mission to find these missing children.  Trying to balance their new circus acts with their covert investigation under the big top, however, proves to be quite a challenge. With the other performers growing suspicious and the threat of the circus’ mysterious benefactor looming overhead, what the two discover will shake Ciel to his very core.

Viewpoint

An above average butler who happens to be a demon with a soft spot for cats and the ability to seduce women, who wouldn’t love to watch an anime featuring Sebastian Michaelis based on that description?  Each time I watch this anime I pick up new details that I did not fully pick up before.  I never get tired of seeing this anime.  Most would consider Black Butler to be overrated, however, it has been around since I started to get back into watching anime and I can not help but feel a connection towards it.  Moving forward, Sebastian is a demon with various talents and what better place for him to showcase his skills than in a circus?  Between the humor, anime trap, and mysterious feeling I found within this anime, I was on the edge of my seat as I continued to watch.  I found this anime a bit fast paced and definitely thought it was deserving of more than ten episodes to show this anime’s full potential, however, it was great with the episodes that it did have.  The plot was well-thought out and the characters were each interesting and entertaining to watch develop.  The back stories that each of these characters had really made me feel close with them and I was rather sad with the outcome of this anime.  Overall, I give Black Butler: Book of Circus a 4 out of 5 stars rating.

One thought on “Black Butler: Book of Circus

Leave a comment