First Impression: Orange Eps. 1-3

Orange, the heartwarming anime that will capture not only your attention, but also your heart.  Orange is an anime that is airing this summer 2016 season.  It is expected to air 13 episodes.  The storyline follows the five lengthy manga volumes brilliantly.  The anime is classified under the genres of Shoujo, Romance, Drama, and Sci-fi.  With ten more episodes to go, Orange has already accumulated an average score of 7.98 based on the opinions of MAL users.

Plot Summary

One day, Naho Takamiya receives a letter written to herself from ten years in the future. As Naho reads on, the letter recites the exact events of the day, including the transfer of a new student into her class named Kakeru Naruse.  The Naho from ten years later repeatedly states that she has many regrets, and she wants to fix these by making sure the Naho from the past can make the right decisions—especially regarding Kakeru. What’s more shocking is that she discovers that ten years later, Kakeru will no longer be with them. Future Naho asks her to watch over him closely.

Source: MAL

Viewpoint

I had been pushing off watching Orange for the first three episodes.  I was unsure how I would react to the anime.  I knew many individuals loved Orange, but tear-jerking anime are not my cup of tea.  I did not want to face watching another Kimi ni Todoke, where I balled every episode.  Today I decided to face the beast and watch the anime and let me tell you, I loved it.  I watched all three episodes right after the other and there were no tears.  I am slightly disappointed that episodes do not come out faster, however, if they did I would be sad that it would be over.  In the short twenty three minutes of the first episode, Orange managed to become one of my favorites of this anime season.  Love is in the air and I enjoy watching feelings develop as the minutes tick by.  I even sense the little rivalry within the love triangle.  As I continue to watch shows this season, my husbando list keeps growing.  The boys of Orange are all definitely drool worthy and have all managed to find their way onto my list.  Besides the gorgeous characters, the story line is well-throughout and heartwarming.  I recommend checking out this anime if you are interested in cheesy and cute love stories.  I will be sure to continue watching this anime and see how enjoyable it will be in the end.

2 thoughts on “First Impression: Orange Eps. 1-3

Add yours

  1. I read the manga and absolutely loved it! I loved the plot and the characters and how they addressed the topic of death was really heartbreaking yet beautiful.

    However, when I tried to watch the anime, I found I didn’t enjoy it as much. The main problem I had was with Naho and Suwa, and their reactions to their possible future. I understood that they wanted to save Kakeru, which is admirable and I’m glad they did, but I felt they shouldn’t have just thrown away their futures like that. My opinion anyways… 🙂

    The rest of the story, though, I loved. It really shows how your actions, no matter how small, can affect those around you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

