30 Day Anime Challenge: Day 11

bac7ccfaadd8763de9c143025566b000445ac00f_hq

Day 11: “Favorite Mech Anime”

I have only seen three anime categorized under the Mecha genre, which are Gurren Lagann, Mobile Suit Gundam: Iron Blooded Orphans, and Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet.  Mecha is definitely my least favorite genre.  I have never been a huge fan of robots, or anything of the like in movies and anime, so this explains why I tend to avoid watching them.  Out of the three that I’ve seen, I have only completed two of them being: Iron Blooded Orphans and Gargantia.  With that being said, it was kind of easy to choose which one I would go with from there.  I finished Gargantia in about a week, and the week seemed to drag by painfully slow, whereas Iron Blooded Orphans took me a couple of months for the first season.  Mecha is just not my thing.

Related imageSynopsis: In the distant future, a majority of humans have left the Earth, and the Galactic Alliance of Humanity is founded to guide exploration and ensure the prosperity of mankind. However, a significant threat arises in the form of strange creatures called Hideauze, resulting in an interstellar war to prevent humanity’s extinction. Armed with Chamber, an autonomous robot, 16-year-old lieutenant Ledo of the Galactic Alliance joins the battle against the monsters. In an unfortunate turn of events, Ledo loses control during the battle and is cast out to the far reaches of space, crash-landing on a waterlogged Earth.  On the blue planet, Gargantia—a large fleet of scavenger ships—comes across Chamber and retrieves it from the ocean, thinking they have salvaged something of value. Mistaking their actions for hostility, Ledo sneaks aboard and takes a young messenger girl named Amy hostage, only to realize that the residents of Gargantia are not as dangerous as he had believed. Faced with uncertainty, and unable to communicate with his comrades in space, Ledo attempts to get his bearings and acclimate to a new lifestyle. But his peaceful days are about to be short-lived, as there is more to this ocean-covered planet than meets the eye.

Source: MAL

Image result for gargantia gifI first came across Gargantia on Netflix.  I was browsing for some new content, as usual, and then this one caught my eye.  I had not heard of the title prior to seeing it on Netflix, but I added it to my queue anyways.  When I finally got around to watching the anime, I was blown away by how good it was.  My expectations for the show were low, however, I thoroughly enjoyed the anime after watching the first episode.  The sole regret that I have after watching this anime is that I did not marathon through it.  I probably would have enjoyed it more if I was not preoccupied with school work as I tried to sit down and finish off the season.

Image result for gargantia gifThis anime is one of the few that actually speaks to me.  Various parts of the anime were incorporated to provide life lessons and to show what the result was of being kind to one another.  I found myself being lured in to watch how a handful of scenes play out.  I felt like I was learning something after every couple of episodes.  For instance, it was eye-opening to watch Ledo communicate with individuals speaking a foreign language.  He was more than willing to attempt to learn what the people were saying, rather than blowing them off.

Three Favorite Aspects of the Anime

  • Communication barrier – Actions speak louder than words.  Ledo was distant from the Gargantians, I guess you would call them that, at first.  However, Ledo was able to pick up on their language quite fast.  Of course Ledo had a bit of technology to help him out, thanks to his Mech, he really did try his hardest to communicate with the people.  I love that the anime focused on human interactions, rather than the Mech throughout the whole story.

Image result for gargantia gif

  • Lacking nationI have to admit, Ledo is my favorite character from the anime, which is no surprise to those of you who have read up until this point.  I find myself admiring the characters that go out of their way to assist others, in Ledo’s case, a whole nation.  Ledo doesn’t demolish Gargantia as soon as he lands on it, which he could have easily done, instead he decides to help it.  Despite there being a communication barrier, he still feels the need to help the nation improve.  This shows the human traits that Ledo has, even though he is not from a world where humans sympathize with one another.

Image result for gargantia gif

  • Lack of romance Ledo could easily get any girl he sees with those looks, however in this anime, he did not.  I loved that the anime focused more upon Ledo developing a friendly relationship with a foreign girl, rather than the two becoming lovers right from the get go.  Ledo’s character was able to progress over a gradual time frame, making me more interested in his development.

Image result for gargantia gif

Gargantia is a must-see.  I believe that other individuals who are not huge fans of Mecha with also enjoy this anime.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

