30 Day Anime Challenge: Day 6

bac7ccfaadd8763de9c143025566b000445ac00f_hq

Day 6: “Anime You Want to See But Haven’t Yet”

For every anime I complete, there is about two more that get added to my plan to watch list.  It is a never-ending cycle.  I am pretty sure there are at least fifty titles on my plan to watch list on MAL, however, there is one that I have been eager to watch lately.  I see it all over the anime pages that I happen to follow, and that is The Melancholy of Haruhi Suzumiya.

Image result for haruhi suzumiya gifSynopsis: Kyon, your typical high school student, has long given up his belief in the supernatural. However, upon meeting Haruhi Suzumiya, he quickly finds out that it is the supernatural that she is interested in—aliens, time travelers, and espers among other things. When Haruhi laments about the lack of intriguing clubs around school, Kyon inspires Haruhi to form her own club. As a result, the SOS Brigade is formed, a club which specializes in all that is the supernatural.  Much to his chagrin, Kyon, along with the silent bookworm, Yuki Nagato, the shy and timid Mikuru Asahina, and the perpetually smiling Itsuki Koizumi, are recruited as members. The story follows the crazy adventures that these four endure under their whimsical leader, Haruhi. The story is based on the light novels by Nagaru Tanigawa.

Source: MAL

Although the anime is apart of the Slice of Life genre, I have really been wanting to see it.  I would have done so already if it were not for Crunchyroll halting my ability to take action.  Due to the show not being on Crunchyroll, I find myself repeatedly skipping over it as I browse for shows to check off as completed.  The longer I wait to view it the higher my expectations get.  I need to watch it soon, otherwise I might wind up disappointed (which would be my own fault for not seeing it sooner).

According to MAL, the show is worth the rating of 8.02.  This is the first time I have looked up the rating and now I am getting antsy.  If school wasn’t starting tomorrow, I would probably stay up and watch the whole show.  Based upon the scenes that I have seen by browsing through the gifs, I am unable to tell if this is going to be a hit or miss.  I can’t wait to find out.  Hopefully, I will be forced to add it to my rather short list of favorites.  Have you seen the show?  Is the average rating for the show accurate, or should I lower my expectations before watching it?

One thought on “30 Day Anime Challenge: Day 6

Add yours

  1. I absolutely loved Haruhi but it really is a hit or miss and there’s no way to know without watching it. It was also a show that was a lot more fun to watch when it first came out because everyone was discovering it for the first time and at the time it was relatively different. Now, there’s dozens of similar shows (though nothing that has ever quite captured what Haruhi managed). I would recommend watching in chronological order rather than broadcast order though, even if that means you’ll hit the climax in episode 5. It just makes more sense chronologically.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

