30 Day Anime Challenge: Day 2

bac7ccfaadd8763de9c143025566b000445ac00f_hq

Day 2: “Favorite Anime You’ve Watched So Far”

Image result for one piece gifIt is only the second day and I already find myself struggling to answer this one.  I even debated just skipping this day all together.  I feel like a mother trying to choose her favorite child, it is nearly impossible.  I have received this question countless times, and time and time again I find myself unable to answer it.  I do not know whether to base my pick on which anime I could watch repeatedly, or which anime I enjoyed the most.  Although I enjoyed an anime a ton, sometimes I don’t find myself wanting to watch it again.  I tried my best to combine the two, scrolling far down into my completed anime list on MAL, and the answer that I came up with was One Piece.

Ivankov is my second favorite character, with Law holding the number one spot.

I know this anime is rather popular and known by some as being “over-rated”, however, I thoroughly enjoy this show.  Close to 800 episodes have gone by and I am still not sick of the show.  I spent months trying to catch up to the current episode, and now I am sad that I did so.  I loved having episodes that I could binge watch at any moment and there would still be more to go.  With that being said, I have not watched several of the recent episodes since I want to watch the interesting arc involving Sanji all at once.

The characters each have their own unique and slightly bizarre quirk that makes them lovable and easier to relate to.  The art style is also a favorite of mine.  I love looking back on the first episode and comparing it to one of the recent ones.  The quality of the art and the look of the characters have definitely changed for the better.  It is amazing to watch the art and the story improve and expand.  I find myself being more and more intrigued by the anime with each passing episode.  I feel like I am apart of the always growing Straw Hat Crew.  Every person that encounters the Straw Hats, in the anime or in the human world, could learn a thing or two from the ditzy, yet determined Luffy.

This is, hands down, my favorite scene in all of One Piece.

Synopsis:  Gol D. Roger was known as the “Pirate King,” the strongest and most infamous being to have sailed the Grand Line. The capture and death of Roger by the World Government brought a change throughout the world. His last words before his death revealed the existence of the greatest treasure in the world, One Piece. It was this revelation that brought about the Grand Age of Pirates, men who dreamed of finding One Piece—which promises an unlimited amount of riches and fame—and quite possibly the pinnacle of glory and the title of the Pirate King.  Enter Monkey D. Luffy, a 17-year-old boy who defies your standard definition of a pirate. Rather than the popular persona of a wicked, hardened, toothless pirate ransacking villages for fun, Luffy’s reason for being a pirate is one of pure wonder: the thought of an exciting adventure that leads him to intriguing people and ultimately, the promised treasure. Following in the footsteps of his childhood hero, Luffy and his crew travel across the Grand Line, experiencing crazy adventures, unveiling dark mysteries and battling strong enemies, all in order to reach the most coveted of all fortunes – One Piece.

Source: MAL

My list of favorites is ever-changing, yet One Piece always finds a way to sneak right back to the top.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

