30 Day Anime Challenge: Day 1

It is only the first day of August and I have made a big decision…to complete the 30 day anime challenge.  I’ve always wanted to try completing an anime challenge, and seeing others participate this month made me eager to finally join in.  Knowing myself, I will probably forget some days, but what’s the harm in trying?

bac7ccfaadd8763de9c143025566b000445ac00f_hq

Day 1: “Very First Anime You Watched”

The first anime that I vividly recall watching was InuYasha.

Image result for inuyasha gifI remember waking up early in the morning before school to catch a little bit of the show playing on Toonami.  I was in fourth grade when I first came across the anime, and I instantly became obsessed.  At the time I did not know that it was known as “anime”.  I didn’t learn that anime was a thing until I hit sixth grade when I saw a friend of mine wearing a Black Butler shirt.  I figured the art style was similar to InuYasha, so I questioned her about it.  Then, I lightly began scratching at the surface of the anime fan base.  Of course, like all kids, I eventually became bored with the topic and didn’t watch anymore anime until eighth grade.  During that year, anime seemed to pull me out of the rut that I was unconsciously in.  By gaining something to do in my free time, I found myself slowly coming further out of my shell.  While I am still a rather shy individual in person, I truly believe that it has helped me by giving me a topic of discussion and a hobby.

I highly recommend this anime to anyone and everyone.  It has a bit of romance mixed with a bit of action.  Also, there is quite a bit of comedy to make the anime even more enjoyable.

Image result for inuyasha sit boy gifSynopsis:  Based on the Shogakukan award-winning manga of the same name, InuYasha follows Kagome Higurashi, a fifteen-year-old girl whose normal life ends when a demon drags her into a cursed well on the grounds of her family’s Shinto shrine. Instead of hitting the bottom of the well, Kagome ends up 500 years in the past during Japan’s violent Sengoku period with the demon’s true target, a wish-granting jewel called the Shikon Jewel, reborn inside of her.  After a battle with a revived demon accidentally causes the sacred jewel to shatter, Kagome enlists the help of a young hybrid dog-demon/human named Inuyasha to help her collect the shards and prevent them from falling into the wrong hands. Joining Kagome and Inuyasha on their quest are the orphan fox-demon Shippo, the intelligent monk Miroku, and the lethal demon slayer Sango. Together, they must set aside their differences and work together to find the power granting shards spread across feudal Japan and deal with the threats that arise.

Source: MAL

Image result for inuyasha koga gifThe characters in the anime are definitely easy on the eyes, exactly how I like my characters.  Ironically my favorite characters happen to not only be supporting characters, but also InuYasha’s rivals, Koga and Sesshomaru.  Koga breathes life into this anime.  I constantly find myself re-watching the episodes that Koga specifically appears in just to see one of my favorites.  Koga’s role in the anime seems to be the comic relief.  I love to see InuYasha tense up whenever Koga is around, plotting to steal away Kagome.

InuYasha is a must-see.  The anime has seven seasons and four movies.  It took me a couple months to eventually catch up to One Piece‘s current episode, so watching all of the InuYasha episodes over and over again seems like a small feat in comparison.  It is quite sad knowing that an anime’s story will not continue on.  With that being said, I suggest taking your time watching it.  If you enjoy this anime as much as I did, then you might understand that feeling.

One thought on “30 Day Anime Challenge: Day 1

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

