Yaoi On Ice Made History

During this ongoing winter season, the unparalleled and exceptional Yuri on Ice made its debut.  The anime consisted of a measly twelve episodes, leaving those who have watched it wanting more.  Although the ending hints at a second season, there has been no confirmation yet.  This comical and extraordinary anime has been placed in two genres, Sports and Comedy.  These genres are very suiting for the anime, however, I believe Shounen Ai could be thrown in there as well.  The beloved anime earned an average rating of 8.63 from MAL users, which is higher than most, making it a favorite of this season.

zzz.gif

Plot Summary

After a heartbreaking defeat in the Grand Prix Finale, Yuri Katsuki returns home to his family’s hot springs in Japan.  Yuri is growing older and not making any improvements with ice skating.  Frustrated, Yuri vents his emotions by performing a routine that his idol Victor Nikiforov, a world champion.  Unaware of it, he was being filmed and the video went viral.  The video was viewed by Victor Nikiforov, himself, and lead to him arriving at Yuri’s house wanting to coach him.  Yuri happily accepts the offer to become Victor’s pupil, until a young Russian competitor, Yuri Plisetsky, comes to Katsuki’s home to take Victor back home with him to become his coach.  The two are putting their skills to the test to gain the attention of Victor Nikiforov and to be able to keep him to themselves.

Image result for yuri on ice gif
My reaction to the onsen scene.

Viewpoint

This anime ended the year in the right way.  All of the heartwarming moments and well-composed songs managed to capture my attention, and my heart.  Yuri on Ice belongs in the Hall of Anime.  It is definitely a favorite of mine.  I tend to watch quite a few sports anime, however, never have I seen one quite like this.  As an episode ended, I always found myself waiting for the next day Crunchyroll would realize a new episode.  I did not realize how desperate I was to watch an anime about ice skating until this masterpiece aired.  Although some may argue the anime features too much fan service, I thought it was the perfect amount, nothing too extravagant.  However, I could do without the awkward episodes of Chris getting a little…too into his performance.  The anime is in the comedy and sports genre though, so I do see why that was added in there.  The main focus in the anime was obviously Victor and Yuri’s relationship, instead of the sport ice skating itself, but who doesn’t love a little romance from time to time?  From the stunning opening to the onsen scene with Victor, the competition between the prim donna and the pork cutlet bowl, the engagement, the development between the supporting characters, the songs used for the performances, all the way to the final scene where Yurio takes the crown, one can tell a lot of time was spent on intricate details to make this show the best it could possibly be.  All of the fans prayers were answered during this anime, and everything that viewers wished to happen did.  I take my hat off to the producers of this marvelous anime, which thus leads into my rating.  I give this show a rating of five out of stars.  One thing I would have loved to see in this anime is how Yurio and Otabek’s relationship will develop, but that is simply the biased fujoshi in me.  Yuri on Ice definitely made history this year in my opinion, making it my favorite anime of this year.

zzzzz

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

